"Sanity in life is having the correct balance of reality and Dreams…"

"Surrounded By Filipinos, I Think Of "The Worst Case"?

I’ve been a Drake fan since the beginning of 2007.  I’m sure most of you guys know that by now.  I came across his “Comeback Season” mixtape that summer (and eventually went back and listened to “Room For Improvement”).  A song over Goapele’s “Closer” called “Closer To My Dreams” featuring Andreena Mills.  It’s easily my favorite Drake track, simply because of it’s presence and introspective lyrics.

http://hotterthanmost.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/drake-comeback-cover1.jpg

There was a line featured on the song that some people found questionable: “Surrounded by Filipinos, I think of the Worst Case”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

(line comes at the 1:00 mark)

Today, I finally was brought to the light on the clarification to the meaning of the line.

For people wondering about the line: “Surrounded by Filipinos, I think of the worst case:

“The Worst Case” actually refers to a book called “The Worst-Case Scenario: Travel Handbook For The Philippines.  Drake’s line was a play on words.  It actually was a pretty dope metaphor and punchline.  Filipinos can now rest their misconceptions about Drake’s feelings towards their race…lol.  Shoot…the man is Black and Jewish, two of the most oppressed races in history.  He CAN’T be racist!  That would be dumb…lol.

HEY, THE MORE YA KNOW!

If You Don’t Know, Now Ya Know!

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reading: 8/29 « Musical Essence

  2. Pingback: Weekend Reading: 8/29 « Musical Essence

  3. i love him!!!!!! he so damn fine!!!!!! wish he was mii age

    November 28, 2009 at 5:43 am

  4. Ron

    “Whenever I walk in they makin the worst face
    Surrounded by Filipinos I think of the worst case
    watch blown, green diamonds I call it the earth face
    Im gettin ya cake I tell u how your dessert tastes
    I get a dessert plate, yall eat pedigree as ya meal ”

    Why does he say, ” ya’ll eat pedigree as ya meal.” Is it in reference to the stereotype that filipinos eat dogs? If so, that is racist.

    March 8, 2010 at 3:28 am

  5. Coy

    thanks for the insight on the lyrics, I went online to look this up specifically b/c it was bothering me….

    July 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    • mikedreamsmusic

      No problem! I wanted to really know at one point and time as well, so I did the research. Glad you came across this so you could breath easy.

      July 11, 2010 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

