"Sanity in life is having the correct balance of reality and Dreams…"

Drake – Over (Music Video)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Drake – Over (Music Video)“, posted with vodpod

I’ve been a fan of Drake since 2007, so you know I’m checking out everything he makes.  This is his official FIRST video for the FIRST single from his FIRST album, so it’s almost like he’s starting over again.  I was antsy to see it and also a little afraid that it might be a total failure like the “Best I Ever Had” video.  It wasn’t.  You can visibly tell he did play it safe, but it was a decent, simple, yet eclectic video.

People will DEFINITELY find things to say about it, because it wasn’t completely complicated and detailed, so those who don’t care for Drake anyways and mindlessly hate regardless will be able to reach and find something bad to say about it.  Overall, it was dope to me.  Though it was simple, it doesn’t necessarily look like the videos coming out these days.  I think the symbolism of the projections of different images on the walls were dope.  What I gathered from that is something how I feel just sitting in my room, introspectively thinking about the future.

The video was directed by Anthony Mandler.  (Rihanna (“Russian Roulette”), Beyoncé (“Irreplaceable”), Jay-Z (“Run This Town”), and Mary J. Blige, for which he teamed up with the Canadian artist on “The One.”)

You can see a few sentiments of MJB’s “The One” in the video, now that I think about it.

By the way, the girl that favors Keyshia Cole a little bit on her VIBE cover is BEAUTIFUL.  I just found out her name is Rita Ora and she’s a Roc Nation artist from London.  “Two Thumbs Up”.

Leave a Reply

